Myanmar visa requirement waived for Vietnamese travellers
Update: Nov 01, 2013
Vietnam and Myanmar passport holders were exempted from the visa requirement for trips of less than 14 days, according to an agreement signed between the Vietnamese and Myanmar governments.
The visa exemption for both countries was effective on October 26. To qualify for visa exemption, travellers must have a passport valid for at least six months.

In the past, a tourist visa to Myanmar cost USD20 for Vietnamese passport holders. Myanmar travellers were charged USD55 for a visa to Vietnam.

So far, Vietnamese tourists can travel to nine ASEAN countries without visas. This is very convenient for private travel, as well as for operating tours to ASEAN countries.

However, tourists should note that the allowed staying period without a visa is different in various countries. Tourists to Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Thailand and Singapore must stay less than 30 days, while trips to Brunei and Myanmar are less than 14 days. For the Philippines, the period is less than 21 days.