Visa-free travel for people from five countries soon
Update: Jun 19, 2015
Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung has agreed to grant visa exemption to the people of five European countries, in an attempt to lure more tourists to the country.

The countries whose residents will not require a visa to travel to Viet Nam are the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy and Spain.

The PM's decision will come into effect on July 1 this year.

Director General of Viet Nam National Administration of Tourism Nguyen Van Tuan announced at the Mekong Tourism Forum in the central Da Nang City.

Mr. Tuan said the PM finally approved the suggestion made by the tourism sector, thanks to the efforts of the administration and the culture, sports and tourism ministry.

"The decision will delight the country's tourism sector and visitors from these countries," he said.

Mr. Tuan said the administration considered visa exemption to be one of the key solutions to rescue the tourism sector from the current recession.

However, experts said visa exemption would not be the decisive factor in drawing visitors, but that the tourism sector should improve itself in luring tourists and keeping them here by improving services.

List of countries exempted visa requirements to Viet Nam.